2011 in review

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2011 annual report for my blog. I like statistics and this is pretty interesting. In 2012 I will have some really interesting posts from a Civil War diary… it is written in a style that is like being along for three and a half years and seeing the war through a soldier’s eyes. Two of my relatives, brothers Solomon and Jeremiah App, were members of this company and many stories of them are included. I hope all of you have a very Happy New Year, and continue to read these blog posts!

Here’s an excerpt:

A San Francisco cable car holds 60 people. This blog was viewed about 2,400 times in 2011. If it were a cable car, it would take about 40 trips to carry that many people.

Click here to see the complete report.

About storiesretoldblogger

I am an Elkhart, Indiana native and became interested in applying video to history when consumer video cameras were first introduced on the market in the late 1970’s. My production company, Stories Retold, specializes in preserving oral history, traditions, and values with video. Primarily interviewing individuals, I sometimes document families, and on occasion document an entire community. My niche is developing a personal relationship with clients which helps me to tell their story just the way they would like to have it told. Everyone has a story worth preserving, and I enjoy discovering interesting stories from people with whom I come into contact on a daily basis. In years to come, these videos will be priceless as they portray original stories complete with visual images and actual voices filled with all the primary material and emotion that was intended to be. I gain a strong sense of personal satisfaction with each completed project whether it involves an individual or an entire community.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2011 in review

  1. Dianne says:

    I am a cg host in Stanislaus N.F. The summer 2012 I am giving an interpretive talk on the Clark-Skidmore Party. Currently I am researching and came across your blog. How fasinating. Can you provide me with any more information, diaries, newspaper acounts? I am in Tucson and I’m looking to bring it to life for the campers this year. Thank you for your help.

    • Hello, Dianne. I’m glad to give you what I have on the Clark-Skidmore Party. It will take a little time to pull it together, but you can contact me at Larry@StoriesRetold.com so that we can communicate better. I have followed John App’s journey from the family farm in Illinois to as far as about Elko, Nevada. He learned mining in or near Amador County in California in 1850-1851 and from there journeyed to Quartz Mountain (next to Jamestown, CA) taking the Walker River route with the Clark-Skidmore party. They had a hard time of it and I’m not sure that even today it is possible to retrace that part of the route, but I’d like to research that. Maybe some of your co-workers at Stanislaus might have an idea about the present day terrain, etc. By the way, what is a cg host?

Leave a Reply

